Manchester City Forums

This is a discussion forum for Manchester City Football Club fans
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 11:50 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Javi Garcia
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:44 pm 

Welcome to the club (son)

Quote:
Spain international Javi Garcia has signed for City for an undisclosed fee from Benfica.

Garcia brings extensive experience of the Champions League with him to Manchester, having made his competition debut for Real Madrid back in 2005.

A defensive midfielder by trade, the 25-year-old has been capped by the Spanish national team once, in a friendly against Serbia earlier this year.

Garcia began his career with Madrid, representing the La Liga side's B team 86 times before graduating to the first team.

He won the European U19 Championships with his country, playing alongside Juan Mata and Gerard Pique as they defeated Scotland in the final in Poland.

Four appearances followed before the deep-lying playmaker joined Osasuna for £3m in 2007 and it was at the El Sadar Stadium that Javi’s reputation soared thanks to his impressive performances as the club avoided relegation from La Liga.

This good form saw Real Madrid exercise their buy-back clause, returning the midfielder to the Santiago Bernabeu for the 2008/09 season where he made another 15 appearances as Real finished second to Barcelona.

Benfica then swooped for Garcia who became an instant hit in Lisbon, making 30 appearances in his first season and scoring three goals.

Garcia’s first silverware arrived in 2010 as the Eagles lifted the Portuguese title and he played an instrumental role in that success, supplying goals and assists as they also clinched Portugal's League Cup.

He added another couple of Portuguese League Cups in 2011 and 2012 to cement himself as a firm fans' favourite - something the Spaniard will hope to replicate with City.